Advisor Contact Information | College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences

Advisor Contact Information

Find Your Academic Advisor

We house two distinct types of Academic Advisors for majors. If you do not currently have a major, select Academic Advisors and Counselors. If you have officially declared your major, you can select Departmental/Faculty Advisors for questions concerning your major.

Academic Advisors and Counselors for Liberal Arts & Social Sciences Majors

Academic Advisors/Counselors work in conjunction with Departmental or Faculty Advisors, Academic Advisors assist students with chosen majors in answering questions concerning General University, Core, and College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences requirements. They are available to review official degree audits with students, perform graduation checks with students, and review all situations requiring Dean's Office Approval for Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Undergraduate Students (such as Concurrent Enrollment, Overload, and Pass/No Pass Course Option approvals). Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Academic Counselors are also the departmental advisors for Integrative Studies Studies and Social Science majors.

Academic Advisors and Majors are divided by the clusters/teams below. To set up an appointment with your Academic Advisor/Counselor please call (940) 565-2051 or go to Navigate.


Take Flight: First Year Advising

The Take Flight team meets with First Time in College Students who are in their first year at UNT.

Email the Take Flight: First Year Advising Team - TakeFlight@unt.edu

940-565-2051

All advisors located in GAB 220 unless otherwise noted:

Kristin Ringe

Kristin Ringe (advises the following majors: Integrative Studies, International Studies, Latino Culture, Economy and Policy, and Social Science)

Katie Jenkins

Katie Jenkins (advises for the following majors: Communication Studies, Converged Broadcast Media, Dance, Professional and Technical Communication, Media Arts, and Theatre)

Justin Canfield (advises the following majors: Psychology)

Josh Brown

Josh Brown (advises the following majors: Anthropology, Economics, English, French, Geography, Geographic Information Systems + Computer Science, German, History, Japanese, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Spanish, and Sociology.)


Communication, Media and Performance Majors

  • Communication Studies
  • Converged Broadcast Media
  • Dance
  • Media Arts
  • Professional Technical Communication
  • Theatre

Email the Communication, Media and Performance Team - MassComm@unt.edu

940-565-2051

All advisors located in GAB 220 unless otherwise noted:

Laura Flowers

Laura Flowers (advises all Communication, Media, and Performance majors)
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts Building 218

Nicole Scott Nicole Scott (advises all Communication, Media, and Performance majors)
Liz Mayberry Liz Mayberry (advises all Communication, Media, and Performance majors)
Michelle Abeyta Daniel Mitchell (advises all Communication, Media, and Performance majors)

Humanities Majors

  • English (concentrations - Creative Writing, Language Arts, Literature, & Writing and Rhetoric)
  • French
  • German
  • History
  • Japanese
  • Philosophy
  • Religion
  • Spanish

Email the Humanities Team - HumanitiesAdvising@unt.edu

940-565-2051

All advisors located in GAB 220 unless otherwise noted:

Robin Gillespie Robin Gillespie (advises all Humanities majors)
Chi-Cory Cole Chi-Cory Cole (advises all Humanities majors)
Michelle Abeyta Michelle Abeyta (advises all Humanities majors)

Integrative Studies Major and Social Science Major

Email the Integrative Studies/Social Science Major Team - IGST-SOSC@unt.edu

940-565-2051

All advisors located in GAB 220 unless otherwise noted:

Laurie Carroll Laurie Carroll (advises all Integrative Studies and Social Science major)
Katie Kroh Katie Kroh (advises all Integrative Studies and Social Science major)
Missy Eenigenburg

Missy Eenigenburg (advises all Integrative Studies and Social Science major)

Brentt Petika Brentt Petika (advises all Integrative Studies and Social Science major)

Social Science Majors

  • Anthropology
  • Economics
  • Geography (including concentrations in Environmental Studies & Earth Systems)
  • Geographic Information Systems + Computer Science
  • International Studies (concentrations - International Security & Diplomacy, International Business & Economics, International Development and Humanitarian Affairs, Regional Studies, & Peace Studies)
  • Latino Culture, Economy & Policy
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology

Email the Social Science Team - SSCluster@unt.edu

940-565-2051

All advisors located in GAB 220 unless otherwise noted:

Jessica Pamplin

Jessica Pamplin (advises all majors in the Social Sciences)

Zach Yeager

Zach Yeager (advises all majors in the Social Sciences)

Samantha Reece Samantha Pollard (advises all majors in the Social Sciences)
Abigail Reeves Abigail Reeves (advises all majors in the Social Sciences)
Kaitlyn Sullivan

Kaitlyn Sullivan (advises all majors in the Social Sciences)

Abigail Burge (advises all majors in the Social Sciences)
Lisa Whitby Lisa Whitby (advises PSYC and IGST majors; Frisco-based CLASS Advisor)

Career Center Career Coaches for CLASS

Michelle Abeyta

Elsita Dean (coaches Anthropology, Psychology, and Sociology majors)

Elsita.Dean@unt.edu

Sage 202
(940)-565-2105

Michelle Abeyta

T.A. Essex (coaches Dance, Ecnomics, French, Geography, German, Japanese, Philosophy, Religion, Spanish, and Theatre majors)

Ta-Tanisha.Essex@unt.edu

Sage 202
(940)-565-2105

Michelle Abeyta

Megan Lawton (coaches Communication Studies, English, and Professional and Technical Communication majors)

Megan.Lawton@unt.edu

Sage 202 and GAB 220
(940)-565-2105

Michelle Abeyta

Maya McMillian (coaches Media Arts, and Converged Broadcast Media majors)

Maya.McMillian@unt.edu

Sage 202
(940)-565-2105

Sean McNamara

Sean McNamara (coaches the Integrative Studies major, the major in Social Science, and Psychology)
Sean.McNamara@unt.edu
Sage 202 and GAB 220
(940)-565-2105

Michelle Abeyta

Lauren Piepenburg (coaches Anthropology, Psychology, and Sociology majors)

Lauren.Piepenburg@unt.edu

Sage 202
(940)-565-2105

Michelle Abeyta

Clarence Sutton (coaches History, International Studies, Latino Culture, Economy and Policy, and Political Science majors)

Clarence.Sutton@unt.edu

Sage 202
(940)-565-2105

Departmental/Faculty Advisors

Departmental/Faculty Advisors work in conjunction with Academic Advisors, mentoring students in their academic disciplines by helping them understand requirements in the major, career options with that major, and start the process for obtaining an official degree audit. Advisors for Special Programs such as Women's Studies are listed below the Departmental Advisors. To set up an appointment with your faculty advisor see the contact information below.


Anthropology Department
Sycamore Hall 119
(940) 565-2290

Anthropology Advisors

Melissa Nelson
Melissa.Nelson@unt.edu
Sycamore Hall 120
(940)-369-8449


Communication Studies Department
General Academic Building 320
(940) 565-2588

Communication Studies Advisor

Erin O'Connor
CommAdvising@unt.edu
General Academic Building 301

*Send email for appointment requests


Department of Dance and Theatre
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts (RTFP) Building 242
(940) 565-2211

Dance Advisor

Whitney Geldon
Whitney.Geldon@unt.edu
Dance and Theatre Building 103D

Reyna Mondragon
Reyna.Mondragon@unt.edu
Dance and Theatre Building 103D

Theatre Advisor

Donna Marquet
Theatre-Advising@unt.edu
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts (RTFP) Building 214


Economics Department
EconAdvising@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 325
(940) 565-2573

Economics Advisors

Harry Ellis, Jr.
hellis@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 335
(940) 565-2246

Jiyoung Kwon
kwon@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 336
(940) 369-8376

Guillermo Covarrubias
Guillermo.Covarrubias@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 338
(940) 565-3169


English Department
Auditorium Building 112
(940) 565-2050

English Advisor

Patrice Lyke
Patrice.Lyke@unt.edu
Auditorium Building 114
(940) 565-2107


Geography and the Environment Department
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 210
(940) 565-2091

Geography and the Environment Advisors

Yuting Li
Yuting.Li@unt.edu
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 320H
(940) 565-2091

Geographic Information Systems + Computer Science Advisor

Lu Liang
Lu.Liang@unt.edu
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 320H
(940) 565-2091


History Department
Wooten Hall 225
(940) 565-2288

History Advisors

(Donald) Keith Mitchener
Donald.Mitchener@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 228
(940) 565-4215

Walter Roberts
Walter.Roberts@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 246
(940) 565-3394


International Studies Program
General Academic Building 470
(940) 565-2323

International Studies Advisor

Dr. Nancy Stockdale
Nancy.stockdale@unt.edu
GAB 102
(940) 565-3372


Latina/o and Mexican American Studies (LMAS) Program
Wooten Hall 162
(940) 891-6803

LMAS Program Director and Advisor for the Latino Culture, Economy and Policy Major

Valerie Martinez-Ebers
valerie.martinez-ebers@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 143
(940) 565-2327


Media Arts Department
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts (RTFP) Building 262
(940) 565-2537

Media Arts Advisors

Brenda Jaskulske
Brenda.Jaskulske@unt.edu
RTFP 229
(940) 565-2537

Frances Perkins
Frances.Perkins@unt.edu
RTFP 263
(940) 565-4578

Converged Broadcast Media Advisor

Phyllis Slocum
slocum@unt.edu
RTFP 261C
(940) 565-2565


Philosophy and Religion Department
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 225
(940) 565-2266

Philosophy and Religion Advisor

David Kaplan
David.Kaplan@unt.edu
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 225
(940) 565-3521


Political Science Department
Wooten Hall 125
(940) 565-2276

Political Science Advisors

Eddie Meaders
meaders@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 141
(940)565-2310


Pre-Law Advisor

Wendy Watson
Wendy.Watson@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 153


Psychology Department
Terrill Hall 316
(940) 565-2671

Psychology Advisors

Terry Davis
Terry.Davis2@unt.edu
Terrill Hall 342
(940) 565-2671


Sociology Department
Sycamore Hall 288
(940) 565-2296

Sociology Advisor

Helen Potts
Helen.Potts@unt.edu
Sycamore Hall 288W
(940) 369-7801


Spanish Department (in World Languages)
Language Building 101
(940) 565-2404

Spanish Advisor

Emily Thurman
Emily.Thurman@unt.edu
Language Building 101D
(940) 565-2582


Technical Communication Department

tcoffice@unt.edu
Auditorium Building 317
(940) 565-4458

Technical Communication Advisor: TBD


World Languages, Literatures and Cultures Department
Language Building 101
(940) 565-2404

World Languages Advisors (Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Latin, & Russian)

Laetitia Knight (advisor for Arabic, French, German, Italian & Latin))
Laetitia.Knight@unt.edu
Language Building 405L
(940) 565-2404

Angela Harris (advisor for Japanese, Chinese, & Asian Studies)

Angela.harris@unt.edu
Language Building 405C
(940) 565-2404



Special Program Advisors

Aerospace Studies
Track & Field Bldg. 712 North Texas Blvd.
(940) 369-7116
Det835@unt.edu

Jewish Studies
General Academic Building 460
(940) 369-8933

Richard.Ruderman@unt.edu

Military Science
712 North Texas Blvd., 147, (940) 369-8011
army.rotc@unt.edu

Peace Studies
Wooten Hall 155
Catherine.Borck@unt.edu

Women's and Gender Studies
General Academic Building 467
(940) 565-2532

Dr. Megan Morrissey

Megan.Morrissey@unt.edu

Office of Student Advising Leadership

The Directors of the Advising Office are listed below with their area of specialization:

Mike McKay, M.Ed.
Assistant Dean for Curriculum and Advising Technology
Mike.McKay@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Susan McCutcheon M.Ed., LPC
Assistant Dean for Advising and Director of Integrative Studies
Susan.McCutcheon@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Jen Palcich, M.A., LPC
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Jennifer.Palcich@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Kristin Ringe, M.A., LPC
Assistant Dean for Student Success
Kristin.Ringe@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 42,000 students.

Apply now