Advisor Contact Information | College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences

Advisor Contact Information

Find Your Academic Advisor

We house two distinct types of Academic Advisors for majors. If you do not currently have a major, select Academic Counselors. If you have officially declared your major, you can select Departmental/Faculty Advisors for questions concerning your major. For all other degree requirements, select Academic Advisors.

Academic Advisors and Counselors for Liberal Arts & Social Sciences Majors

Academic Advisors/Counselors work in conjunction with Departmental or Faculty Advisors, Academic Advisors assist students with chosen majors in answering questions concerning General University, Core, and College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences requirements. They are available to review official degree audits with students, perform graduation checks with students, and review all situations requiring Dean's Office Approval for Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Undergraduate Students (such as Concurrent Enrollment, Overload, and Pass/No Pass Course Option approvals). Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Academic Counselors are also the departmental advisors for Integrative Studies Studies and Social Science majors.

Academic Advisors and Majors are divided by the clusters/teams below. To set up an appointment with your Academic Advisor/Counselor please call (940) 565-2051.


Communication, Media and Performance Majors

  • Communication Studies
  • Converged Broadcast Media
  • Dance
  • Media Arts
  • Professional Technical Communication
  • Theatre

Laura Flowers (advises students with last names A-E)
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts Building 218
(940) 565-2051

Esther Oppong (advises students with last names F-L)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Taylor Moore (advises students with last names M-R)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Lisa Whitby (advises students with last names S-Z)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Email the Communication, Media and Performance Team - MassComm@unt.edu


Humanities Majors

  • English (concentrations - Creative Writing, Language Arts, Literature, & Writing and Rhetoric)
  • French
  • German
  • History
  • Japanese
  • Philosophy
  • Religious Studies
  • Spanish

Robin Gillespie (advises students with last names A-E)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Olivia Harris (advises students with last names F-L)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Katie Reinhardt (advises students with last names M-R)
Wooten Hall 232
(940) 565-2051

Elayne Souza (advises students with last names S-Z)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Email the Humanities Team - HumanitiesAdvising@unt.edu


Integrative Studies Major and Social Science Major

Kristin Ringe (advises students with last names A-E)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Laurie Carroll (advises students with last names F-L)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Sherry Grant (advises students with last names M-R)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Missy Eenigenburg (advises students with last names S-Z)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Email the Integrative Studies/Social Science Major Team - IGST-SOSC@unt.edu


Social Science Majors

  • Anthropology
  • Economics
  • International Studies (concentrations - International Security & Diplomacy, International Business & Economics, International Development and Humanitarian Afairs, Regional Studies, & Peace Studies)
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Geography

Nina Ditoro (advises Psychology majors only - all students)
Terrill Hall 330
(940) 565-2051

KAS McConnell (advises all majors, students with last names A-E, and Primary advisor for International Studies)
GAB 470
(940) 565-2051

Katie Jenkins (advises all majors, students with last names F-L)
GAB 220
(940)565-2051

Erika Cole (advises all majors, students with last names M-R)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Kimberly Parker (advises all majors, students with last names S-Z)
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Email the Social Science Team - SSCluster@unt.edu

Departmental/Faculty Advisors

Departmental/Faculty Advisors work in conjunction with Academic Advisors, mentoring students in their academic disciplines by helping them understand requirements in the major, career options with that major, and start the process for obtaining an official degree audit. Advisors for Special Programs such as Women's Studies are listed below the Departmental Advisors. To set up an appointment with your faculty advisor see the contact information below.


Anthropology Department
Chilton Hall, Suite 330
(940) 565-2290

Anthropology Advisor

Beverly Davenport
Beverly.Davenport@unt.edu
Chilton Hall, room 330G
(940) 565-2292


Communication Studies Department
General Academic Building 320
(940) 565-2588

Communication Studies Advisors

Holley Vaughn
Holley.Vaughn@unt.edu
General Academic Building 320F
(940) 565-3456

Brittany Hale
Brittany.Hale@unt.edu
General Academic Building 309
(940) 565-2588


Department of Dance and Theatre
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts (RTFP) Building 242
(940) 565-2211

Dance Advisor

Shelley Cushman
Dance-Advising@unt.edu
Dance and Theatre Building (DATH) Room 103C

Theatre Advisor

Amanda Breaz
Theatre-Advising@unt.edu
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts (RTFP) Building 242


Economics Department
Hickory Hall 254
(940) 565-2573

Economics Advisors

Harry Ellis, Jr.
hellis@unt.edu
Hickory Hall 283D
(940) 565-2246

Jiyoung Kwon
kwon@unt.edu
Hickory Hall 283B
(940) 369-8376

Alejandro Gelves
Juan.Gelves@unt.edu
Hickory Hall 283A
(940) 565-3169


English Department
Auditorium Building 112
(940) 565-2050

English Advisor

Patrice Lyke
Patrice.Lyke@unt.edu
Auditorium Building 114
(940) 565-2107


Geography and the Environment Department
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 210
(940) 565-2091

Geography and the Environment Advisors

Paul Hudak
hudak@unt.edu
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 210D
(940)565-4312

Kent McGregor
mcgregor@unt.edu
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 310R
(940) 565-2380


History Department
Wooten Hall 225
(940) 565-2288

History Advisors

(Donald) Keith Mitchener
Donald.Mitchener@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 228
(940) 565-4215

Debbie Liles
Debbie.liles@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 229
(940) 565-4867

Graham Cox
Graham.Cox@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 255
(940) 565-4526


International Studies Program
General Academic Building 470
(940) 565-2323

International Studies Advisor

KAS McConnell (advises for International Studies majors)
kas.mcconnell@unt.edu
GAB 470
(940) 565-2323


Latina/o and Mexican American Studies (LMAS) Program
Wooten Hall 162
(940) 891-6803

LMAS Program Director

Valerie Martinez-Ebers
valerie.martinez-ebers@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 143
(940) 565-2327


Media Arts Department
Radio, TV, Film, and Performing Arts (RTFP) Building 262
(940) 565-2537

Media Arts Advisors

Carla Carter
Carla.Carter@unt.edu
RTFP 226
(940) 565-2537

Frances Perkins
Frances.Perkins@unt.edu
RTFP 263
(940) 565-2537

Converged Broadcast Media Advisor

Phyllis Slocum
slocum@unt.edu
RTFP 261C
(940) 565-2565


Philosophy and Religion Department
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 225
(940) 565-2266

Philosophy Advisor

Michael Thompson
Michael.Thompson@unt.edu
Environmental Education, Science and Technology Building 320F
(940) 565-2266


Political Science Department
Wooten Hall 125
(940) 565-2276

Political Science Advisor

Eddie Meaders
meaders@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 141
(940)565-2310


Pre-Law Advisor

Wendy Watson
prelaw@unt.edu
Wooten Hall 153
(940) 565-4413


Psychology Department
Terrill Hall 351
(940) 565-2671

Psychology Advisors

Advisors (Graduate Assistants to Faculty Advisor)
PSYCAdvising@unt.edu
Terrill 330
(940) 565-2671

Michael Barnett
Michael.Barnett@unt.edu
Terrill 330
(940) 565-2376


Sociology Department
Chilton Hall 390
(940) 565-2296

Sociology Advisor

Helen Potts
Helen.Potts.@unt.edu
Chilton Hall 390H
(940) 565-7801


Spanish Department (in World Languages)
Language Building 101
(940) 565-2404

Spanish Advisor

Emily Thurman
Emily.Thurman@unt.edu
Language Building 101D
(940) 565-2582


Technical Communication Department
Auditorium Building 317
(940) 565-4458

Technical Communication Advisor

Lee Dollar
Lee.Dollar@unt.edu
Auditorium Building 105D
(940) 565-4458


World Languages, Literatures and Cultures Department
Language Building 101
(940) 565-2404

World Languages Advisor

Laetitia Knight
Laetitia.Knight@unt.edu
Language Building 101
(940) 565-2582


Special Programs Advisors

Aerospace Studies
Track & Field Bldg. 712 North Texas Blvd.
(940) 369-7116
Det835@unt.edu

Jewish Studies
General Academic Building 460
(940) 369-8926
Richard Golden - rmg@unt.edu

Military Science
Wooten Hall 325, (940) 369-8011
army.rotc@unt.edu

Women's Studies
General Academic Building 467
(940) 565-2532
Alicia Re Cruz - alicica.recruz@unt.edu

Office of Student Advising Leadership

The Directors of the Advising Office are listed below with their area of specialization:

Mike McKay, M.Ed.
Assistant Dean for Curriculum and Advising Technology
Mike.McKay@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Susan McCutcheon M.Ed., LPC
Assistant Dean for Advising Services and Director for Integrative Studies
Susan.McCutcheon@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Jen Palcich, M.A., LPC
Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
Jennifer.Palcich@unt.edu
GAB 220
(940) 565-2051

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 37,000 students.

Apply now