Seventy-Eight CLASS Faculty and Staff Recognized for University Service | College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences
March 30, 2023

Seventy-Eight CLASS Faculty and Staff Recognized for University Service

The University of North Texas takes pride in recognizing and celebrating employees for their hard work and commitment to supporting the mission of the University. Recently, UNT recognized 535 Service Award recipients this year with a combined 6,560 years of service to the University.

The College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences accounted for 78 employees in recognition of the length of service to the university. Dr. G.L. Seligmann led the way with 55 years of service to UNT, while Kari Lynne Battaglia (Economics) has served UNT for 35 years.

Seligmann a faculty member in the Department of History since 1967, roles have included serving as associate and acting director of core programs for what was then the College of Arts and Sciences, chairing the university tenure committee "through an unusually tense period," and representing the department as a member of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee.

Gus earned bachelor's and master's degrees from New Mexico State University and a Ph.D. from the University of Arizona. His research has appeared in journals such as the New Mexico Historical Review and Arizoniana. He co-edited both Chicano: The Evolution of a People and Chicano: The Beginnings of Bronze Power, among other books. And he is known among his colleagues and students for his dedication and his unwavering kindness.

"He has contributed much to the life of the department," says Jennifer Wallach, chair of the Department of History, "through his wit, storytelling, rich institutional memory, excellent hospitality, and unparalleled skills as a departmental parliamentarian."

Kari L. Battaglia is a principle lecturer (August 2009 - Present) with the Department of Economics and has been with the university for 35 years. Battaglia started as the coordinator with the Tutor Center (1996 - 2017), and is currently serving as the coordinator for Departmentalized Principles Program and Supervise/Train Adjunct Instructors and Teaching Fellows (1992 - Present).

Rounding out CLASS staff and faculty include 21 who hit the 5-year mark, followed by 20 employees with 10 years of service, 18 personnel with 15 years of commitment, 10 employees were honored for 20 years of service, Dr. Randall Cox and Dr. Craig S. Neumann both with the Department of Psychology have been with the university for 25 years. Meanwhile, Constance Bernette Hilliard (History), David Holdeman (English), Paul F. Hudak (Geography & the Environment), Alicia Re Cruz (Anthropology), Margie Tieslau (Economics)

The honorees were recognized for their service for the 2022 calendar year.