Advisory Board Members | College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences

Advisory Board Members

Mr. Harry Eaddy and Mrs. Linda Eaddy are both UNT alumni, he with a BA in Marketing from 1970, and her with a BA in Psychology from 1972. They are both active and well-respected members of the Denton community. Both Harry and Linda are highly active in the Denton black community and promote diversity in all that they do. They served as honorary co-chairs during UNT's 50th anniversary of desegregation in 2004. They are also highly involved in the Denton arts scene. Harry is the chairperson of the Denton Black Film Festival, which celebrated its third annual run this year. The proceeds benefit the Denton African American Scholarship Foundation (DAASF), for which Harry has served as chairperson. The DAASF holds many large fundraising parties at several diverse holidays throughout the year. Linda has also served on the Denton Greater Arts Council. Harry serves in an advisory capacity for a life sciences company, and is a business man in the truest sense of the word. The Eaddy's consider themselves true Dentonites and spend their spare evenings at their favorite shops on the square.

Mr. Mike Friedman is a Senior Vice President at CB Richard Ellis. CBRE is a commercial real estate service, and Mike is in Brokerage Services. He has been a real estate broker for over 40 years. Mike specializes in the leasing, disposition, sales lease-back sales, shopping center sales, and retail land sales. He is a 2006 Stemmons Service Award Recipient, and the 2013 UNT Alumni of the Year. He has been a member of the Advisory Board since 2012.

Dr. Charles T. Ku, D.D.S. has been a practicing dentist in Lewisville since 1974. He received his B.S. from Baylor University in 1970 and his dental training Baylor College of Dentistry in Dallas (1974). Born in Mainland China and reared in Taiwan, Dr. Ku is the founder and chairman of four Sunray Chinese Schools in the metroplex, the mission of which is to teach Chinese children about their culture and heritage, as well as to how to speak and write Chinese. He is also a Deacon at First Baptist Church in Lewisville and active in the Lewisville Rotary Club. Dr. Ku is on the Board of Directors of the R.I.C.E. Foundation, Baylor Oral Health Foundation, Dallas Red Cross, SMU Deadman College Board and SMU Asian Advisory Board Chairman. He was appointed by former Governor Bill Clements to the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners (1987) and by former Governor George W. Bush to the Texas Health Coordinating Council (1997).

Ms. Raney LaSusa is an immigration attorney and partner at LaSusa & Deb PLLC, a full-service law firm in Dallas, TX. Raney currently represents criminal defense clients, with an emphasis on how criminal law relates to federal immigration law. She also handles a wide range of immigration issues including employment-based and family-based matters. She holds a B.A. in Foreign Language and a law degree from SMU, and an M.A. in French from UNT. She has worked internationally in Paris and is fluent in Spanish, French, and Italian. She joined the Advisory Board in 2017.

Mr. Mark Miller holds a BS in Secondary Education ('70) and MBA in Finance ('80) from UNT and is the retired Chief Financial Officer of the Institute for Policy Innovation. Previously he served in the banking and financial sector for more than 30 years. Miller resides in Denton with his wife Susan (also a UNT alum). They have three adult children: Margaret, Keith, and Kyle. Miller is one of UNT's most involved alumni. He has been involved with the University since 1982, shortly after he graduated with his MBA in Finance. He has served on the Alumni Association Board of Directors since 2010 and recently served a term as president. He is a member of the President's Council, life member of the Alumni Association, and a member of the 1890 Society. Miller is a huge fan of UNT athletics, specifically football and basketball. He has at different times help season tickets for both sports and has traveled with the teams to a couple of their away games. In 2015, Miller was awarded the Ulys Knight Spirit Award. He established a charity basketball game to support the UNT Cheer Squad scholarship fund and manages a charity flag football game that benefits an athletic scholarship fund. Miller also helped create and sell spirit items during UNT football and basketball seasons, and has helped host events for UNT and Denton community members. He is currently serving as chairperson.

Mrs. Karin Seligmann is a residential and commercial realtor for Keller Williams Realty. Her involvement with UNT includes being a Life-Time Member of the President's Council, a Life Member of the North Texas Exes, and Advisory Board Member for the Department of Marketing and Logistics. In addition, she has endowed a scholarship in the name of her husband, G. L. Seligmann, a historian at UNT as well as funding a scholarship for marketing students in the College of Business. As a retired professor teaching 21 years, with a B.A. and M.A. in English as well as many hours of Ph.D. course work (completed at UNT), Karin supports scholarships and unrestricted funding of virtually every department in the College of Arts and Science, as well as other UNT departments.

Mr. Louie Tijerina is an Associate for Retail Services at CBRE. His primary focus is on landlord representation, specifically for the growing Hispanic and Latino population of Texas. Prior to joining CBRE, Louie worked with Hopinks Commercial Real Estate as a leasing and marketing manager for both occupier and landlord representation. He is currently earning a law degree at the UNT Dallas College of Law. For many years he has also been a leader in the Fort Worth regional chapter of the National Hispanic Institute, and his passion for Hispanic culture and education is a big part of what fuels his support for UNT and CLASS.

Mr. Jim Wilson is the principal design architect at Eikon Consulting Group located in Sanger, Texas. Prior to joining Eikon, Jim was the owner of his own firm, Jim Wilson Architects, in McKinney, Texas, for seventeen years. Jim received his Bachelor of Architecture from the University of Texas, and he received his Master of Architecture from Harvard University. In addition to his professional life, Jim graduated with a Master of Fine Art in Painting and Drawing from the University of North Texas College of Visual Arts and Design in 2018. As a part of his tenure at UNT, Jim serves as a Teaching Assistant in the Art Department. He joined the Advisory Board in 2017.

Mr. Craig Woodcook is General Counsel at Ben E. Keith Company, where he has worked since 1997. Mr. Woodcook has a B.A. in Philosophy and M.S. in Economics from UNT. He received his JD from the Texas Wesleyan School of Law in 2005 and an LLM from SMU's Dedman School of Law in 2009. Mr. Woodcook has been involved with the State Fair of Texas since 1998 and currently sits on the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors. Mr. Woodcook has been married to his wife, Micah (UNT graduate class of 2017), for 22 years. The Woodcooks have one daughter, Marlee, who is entering her senior year at the University of Alabama.

Thinking about UNT?

It's easy to apply online. Join us and discover why we're the choice of over 42,000 students.

Apply now