The University of Pittsburg Press Pitt Poetry Series to Publish UNT’s Corey Marks’ The Rock That Is Not a Rabbit Book | College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences
March 8, 2023

The University of Pittsburg Press Pitt Poetry Series to Publish UNT’s Corey Marks’ The Rock That Is Not a Rabbit Book

Corey Marks's collection of poems, The Rock That Is Not a Rabbit, has been accepted by the prominent Pitt Poetry Series (University of Pittsburgh Press).

Marks is a distinguished teaching professor and director of creative writing with the University of North Texas College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Department of English. His book was selected by the interim editors for the series, Terrance Hayes, Nancy Krygowski, and Jeffrey McDaniel, during the press' recent open reading period.

"I'm thrilled to have The Rock That Is Not a Rabbit appear in the Pitt Poetry Series. The University of Pittsburgh Press has released one of the richest and most varied lists in American poetry, one brimming with poets I admire," said Marks.

Marks is the author of The Radio Tree (New Issues Press, 2012), winner of the Green Rose Prize, and Renunciation (University of Illinois Press, 2000), a National Poetry Series selection. His poems have appeared in New England Review, The Paris Review, Poetry Northwest, Ploughshares, Southwest Review, The Threepenny Review, TriQuarterly, and The Virginia Quarterly Review. He has received a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Natalie Ornish Prize from the Texas Institute for Letters, and the Bernard F. Conners Prize from The Paris Review.

"We are very lucky to have this exceptional poet, teacher, and colleague on our faculty," said Jacqueline Vanhoutte, chair and professor of English. "This honor will position Corey and the creative writing department for major national recognition", declared Vanhoutte.

Marks' pursuit of poetry began at Kalamazoo College where he received his bachelor's degree in English in 1992. He then moved to Warren Wilson College in North Carolina, graduating with a master's degree in creative writing two years later. In 2000, he completed his studies with a Ph.D. in creative writing and literature at the University of Houston.

The Pitt Poetry Series represents many of the finest poets active today, as reflected in the many prestigious awards their work has garnered over the past four decades. It receives more than 1,500 manuscripts during each open period.

Marks' book is scheduled for publication in the fall of 2023.

Creative Writing offers a Ph.D. in English with a concentration in creative writing, an M.A. in creative writing, and an undergraduate major with a concentration in creative writing. At UNT, we've fostered a thriving literary community enriched by our Visiting Writers Series and by our national journal, American Literary Review.

University of Pittsburg Press "Since its inception in 1967, the Pitt Poetry Series has been a vehicle for America's finest contemporary poets. The series list includes Inaugural Poet Richard Blanco, Poet Laureate Billy Collins, Toi Derricotte, Denise Duhamel, Lynn Emanuel, Ross Gay, Etheridge Knight, Poet Laureate and Pulitzer Prize-winner Ted Kooser, Larry Levis, Sharon Olds, Alicia Suskin Ostriker, Afaa Michael Weaver, David Wojahn, Dean Young, and many others."